Seven Osseo Area Schools teachers named 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates

Seven teachers across the Osseo Area Schools district were named 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates, including:

  • Debra Amelse, instructional assistant, Basswood Elementary School
  • Jessica Carr, first-grade teacher, Fernbrook Elementary
  • Rich Johnston, sixth-grade teacher, Osseo Middle School
  • Ann Kozarek, physical education teacher, Edinbrook Elementary
  • Jaquinetta Mitchell, English teacher, Osseo Senior High
  • Jennifer Paulson, second-grade teacher, Woodland Elementary
  • Lisa Thompson, fifth-grade teacher, Basswood Elementary School

These seven teachers are among 167 candidates across the state vying for the top title. A panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists. The 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award, sponsored by Education Minnesota, will be announced on May 6.

(Photographs are arranged alphabetically from top to bottom)

 Amelse Carr Johnston Kozarek

 Mitchell Paulson Thompson

School Info

Woodland Elementary
4501 Oak Grove Parkway
Brooklyn Park MN 55443


School Hours
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Office Hours
8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Phone & Fax

School Office
763-315-6400, ext 0
763-315-6400, ext 1

General Fax Number

School Leadership

Toni Beckler