Destination Imagination

The Destination Imagination (DI) Regional Tournament was on Saturday, February 18. Our 7 MGMS  Destination Imagination teams had a great showing and 3 teams will be advancing to the State Tournament on Saturday, Apr. 22nd.  

Placing 1st in middle level for Fine Arts is the "Dreamers" team of Anna A, Debbie G, Grace L, Lydia M, Adella M, Sammy S, and Lorelei W.

Placing 2nd in middle level Fine Arts is the "Cookie Monster" team of Sloane F, Julia H, Gracie K, Isabel K, Savannah K, Alena M, and Leah M.

Placing 2nd in middle level for Improvisation is the "Fantabulous Five" team of Faith H, Jordan H, Sophi N, Carly W., and Kaylee W.  

The teams are coached by Jody Kinneberg, Lucas Pedersen, and Haley Travis-Eull.

Forty-one sixth, seventh, and eighth grade students participated in Destination Imagination at Maple Grove Middle School. Teams have been working on their central challenge solution since the beginning of November. Destination Imagination is a creative problem solving challenge with the purpose to inspire and equip students to become the next generation of innovators and leaders.

Challenges encompass STEM, Improv, Performing and Visual Arts skills. Each Challenge is open-ended and enables student teams to learn and experience the creative process from imagination to innovation. Academic tournaments take place around the world where teams have the opportunity to present their solutions to trained appraisers. Students have fun and gain confidence in their ability to solve any challenge. In working to solve their Challenges, teams learn 21st century skills (creativity, critical thinking, collaboration, communication, citizenship and courage) to build on their unique strengths.

State Tournament update - Our 8th grade Improv team won! Faith, Jordan, Sophie, Carly, and Kaylee qualified to go to Globals which is down in Knoxville, TN in May.


School Info

Maple Grove Middle School
7000 Hemlock Lane
Maple Grove MN  55369

School Hours
8:10 am - 2:40 pm
Office Hours
7:00 am - 3:30 pm

Phone & Fax

School Office

General Fax 
Counseling Fax 


School Leadership

Lisa Hartman

Assistant Principals
Sara Looby
Christine Mann

Student Management Specialists
Paul Schulz